Probation

MARTIN COUNTY PROBATION DEPARTMENT
Security Building
201 Lake Avenue, Room 230
Fairmont, MN 56031
507-238-3215
507-238-4301 (Fax)
Located 2nd floor of the Law Enforcement Center

PROBATION AGENTS

Julie K. Grunewald
Career Corrections Agent
507-236-2063
julie.k.grunewald@state.mn.us


Heather L. Hawkins
Career Corrections Agent
507-236-1489
heather.l.hawkins@state.mn.us

Nancy M. Johnson
Career Corrections Agent
507-236-0741
nancy.johnson@state.mn.us

 
SUPPORT STAFF

Valerie Jepsen
Administrative Assistant
507-238-3237
valerie.jepsen@co.martin.mn.us


Patti Mathews
Administrative Assistant
507-238-3233
patti.mathews@co.martin.mn.us
YOUTH INTERVENTION AND PREVENTION

Michelle Larsen
YIP Coordinator
507-236-0223
michelle.larsen@co.martin.mn.us
 


Youth Intervention and Prevention Programs:
Martin County Teen Court
“Thinking for a Change” Cognitive Skills Program
Martin County Truancy Program
BEST Program
Shoplifting Intervention Program
Tobacco/Vaping Educational Program
Community Work Service Program

FELONY OFFICE
117 North Main St
Fairmont, MN 56031
507-399-7100

PROBATION AGENTS

Brad Larson
507-399-7104
507-317-0286 (Cell)
brad.j.larson@state.mn.us


Carolyn Zebedee
507-399-7105
507-317-9016 (Cell)
carolyn.l.zebedee@state.mn.us


Angela Sundeen
507-399-7107
angela.sundeen@state.mn.us

Samantha Wilfahrt
507-399-7106
507-236-0857 (Cell)
samantha.wilfahrt@state.mn.us
SUPPORT STAFF

Janice Wiederhoeft
507-399-7103
507-235-5711 (Fax)
janice.wiederhoeft@state.mn.us

 
SENTENCING TO SERVICE PROGRAM

Kyle Redenius
STS Crew Leader
507-236-2494
kyle.redenius@state.mn.us


John McDonald
STS Crew Leader
507-236-2493
john.mcdonald@state.mn.us


INTERNSHIP

To complete an internship application go to the DOC website, then go to employment opportunities, and then to intern opportunities to find the application. Complete the application to be submitted to Teresa Moen, the internship coordinator.

MISSION STATEMENT
It is our mission to promote public safety by holding offenders accountable, providing victim and community reparation, and by offering quality early intervention and probation services.

PROBATION
MN STATUTE 609.02, SUBD 15:  "PROBATION" means a court-ordered sanction imposed upon an offender for a period of supervision no greater than that set by statute.  It is imposed as an alternative to confinement or intermediate sanctions.  The purpose of probation is to deter further criminal behavior, punish the offender, help provide reparation to crime victims and their communities, and provide offenders with opportunities for rehabilitation.

DESCRIPTION OF DEPARTMENT
Martin County Probation is responsible for supervising all adults placed on probation for gross misdemeanor and misdemeanor level offenses, and all juveniles placed on probation.  We provide investigative reports to the Court and make sentencing recommendations.  We are responsible for protecting public safety and holding offenders accountable to the orders of the Court.  Our department also provides early intervention and prevention services to youth.  


LINKS
mndoc
Minnesota Department of Corrections - https://mn.gov/doc
American Probation and Parole Association - https://www.appa-net.org/eweb
Minnesota Association of County Probation Officers - https://macpo.net
Minnesota Corrections Association - http://www.mn-ca.org
National Youth Court Center - https://youthcourt.net
Youth Intervention Programs Association - https://yipa.org